Ever since she discovered her affinity for magic, seventeen-year-old Anouk has been desperate to become a witch. It’s the only way to save her friends who, like Anouk, are beasties: animals enchanted into humans. But unlike Anouk, the other beasties didn’t make it out of the battle at Montélimar in one piece.

With her friends now trapped in their animal forms, Anouk is forced into a sinister deal involving a political marriage with her sworn enemy, a wicked plot to overthrow London’s fiercest coven of witches, and a deadly trial of fire to become a witch. The price for power has always been steep in the world of the Haute. Now, it will cost Anouk everything.

Wicked and delightful, this spellbinding sequel and conclusion to Grim Lovelies is perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince and The Hazel Wood.

Buy the Book
What People Are Saying

“Readers familiar with the first volume will enjoy this final leg of Anouk’s journey in which enemies become family and the powerless become powerful...A satisfying conclusion.”  

                                                                                               — Kirkus

"Exciting action scenes and unexpected personal revelations and character relationships combine to form a tantalizing conclusion to Shepherd’s duology."

                                                                                               — Booklist

"One heart-stopping scene after another... a satisfying conclusion to this duology."

                                                                                               — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Publishing Worldwide

​US/UK/CANADA/PHILIPPINES: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
MEXICO: Vergara & Riba Editoras S/A
ARGENTINA: V&R Editoras, S.A.
SPAIN: La Galera S.A.U. Editorial
BRAZIL: Vergara & Riba Editoras S/A
BULGARIA: Egmont Bulgaria
FRANCE: Bragelonne

Other books in the Grim Lovelies series:
GRIM LOVELIES cover.jpg
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter